Reading Ambassador #8 – Long Vu Tran

National Year of Reading – Reading Ambassador #8 – Long VU TRAN

 

 

What are you reading at the moment?
I’m reading the Raymond E. Feist  series at the moment – I’m up to the Krondor part, which is the fourth series. It’s set in a land called Midkemia. Fantasy & adventure are the genres that I prefer to read. I really like the Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan and the Artemis Fowl  [Eoin Colfer] series. In primary school I was recommended Agatha Christie – I liked Ten Little Indians and Death on the Nile. I like books with medieval warfare – Raymond E. Feist writes in this way but he includes magic as well. A lot of authors will take elements of that time period – like the feudal system, for example, – but put them into their own worlds or realms.

Where’s the most unusual place that you’ve ever read a book?
At the start of Year Seven I spent a lot of time reading, but I didn’t go to the library. I used to spend a lot of time reading, standing in this corner outside my lockers. Then eventually I started reading & walking & eating at the same time – but just at school. I don’t do it on the street in case I trip or walk into things. When I read on the train there’s a whistling sound in the tunnel just before Flinders Street Station, but sometimes I’m so immersed in what I’m reading that I hear it but there’s no recognition. I don’t miss my stop on the way home because most of my friends get off at the stop before me.

What book / story has made a lasting impression upon you?
I would have to say the Ranger’s Apprentice [John Flanagan] series because I’ve read the series about five times – this is the kind of book/series that I enjoy the most. It’s set in medieval times & the main character is Will. Will wasn’t born a hero. He was an orphan & he wanted to become a warrior but he was too skinny, so then he became a ranger’s apprentice. Rangers are a kind of spy for the kingdom, they wear cloaks & walk around the forest like scouts. The people believe that the rangers have magical powers – but they don’t, they have just been thoroughly trained to protect the people.

Thank you, Long, for sharing your reading preferences with us, and thanks, as always to Denise for the interview and photo.

3 thoughts on “Reading Ambassador #8 – Long Vu Tran

  1. Pingback: Reading Ambassador #8 – Long Vu Tran | We are authors in Australia | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Reading Ambassador #8 – Long Vu Tran | What is a teacher librarian? | Scoop.it

  3. Pingback: Reading Ambassador #8 – Long Vu Tran | Creating a community of readers | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

